Guestlist: Will Reichelt

As this year rounds to a close, expect to see end-of-year lists popping up on every single blog around and we’re no exception. In fact I’ve rounded up some amazing friends who want to share their list with you too. The first is photographer and blogger, Will Reichelt. You may have seen Will around, if not at the front of almost every gig.

Photo: Will Reichelt

I’m continuously amazed with his photography – have a look for yourself over at his blog or at his flickr. Time and time again Will and I would snap the same shows and I don’t think that’s going to change any time soon. So without further delay here are Will’s top ten records of this year.

  1. Jonathan Boulet – Jonathan Boulet LP
    The lush, complex & mature debut album from this precociously-talented 20-year old musician. The standout track “A Community Service Announcement” also has one of the most hauntingly beautiful music videos I’ve seen this year. It’s so damn fresh and accomplished-sounding, it makes me sick.
  2. Sherlock’s Daughter – Sherlock’s Daughter EP
    My favourite Sydney band of 2009, Sherlock’s Daughter have a shivery, destined-for-great-things sound that gets me all excited. They’ve got epic, layered tunes and a live show that pulses with Tanya Horo’s mesmerising stage presence.
  3. City Of Satellites – Machine Is My Animal
    An electronic, ethereal cloud of an album. Dreamy, with a crisp digital under layer, like the soundtrack to a 70’s science fiction film. I still can’t believe that’s a man singing all the songs.
  4. Dragging Pianos – The Food Chain EP
    From the same creative gene-pool as Townsville’s The Middle East, Sam Rowe’s songs are disarmingly simple, but emotionally manipulative in the best way.
  5. Red Riders – Drown In Colour
    With the catchiest hooks, the jangliest guitars, and probably the wittiest & most endearing live-show banter I’ve heard all year, the Red Riders are disarmingly loveable. This album also contains one of my absolute favourite songs of this year, “The Siren Sings”.
  6. The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart LP
    An album that throws up the kind of wrenching emotional responses I had to music back when I was in high school. Wistful, romantic fuzz with a glimmer of razor-sharp recklessness underpinning it all.
  7. HEALTH – Get Color
    The assault on my senses I needed to snap myself out of all the romantic, wist-rock I’ve been immersing myself in all year. A violent, anarchistic sonic burnout that feels like the soundtrack to the apocalypse.
  8. The XX – XX
    The minimalist sound of this London band, dominated by the lyrical back-and-forth of vocalists Oliver Sim & Romy Madley Croft has a laid-back, effortless aura of cool around it that I find hard to resist. Coming from the same school as Four Tet & Hot Chip, it makes you wonder what they’re putting in the water.
  9. Passion Pit – Manners
    I don’t know why, but it took me a little while to actually like their debut EP Chunk Of Change, but as soon as I bought into the passionate falsetto of Michael Angelakos, I was hooked. This was played extremely loudly in my car on high rotation for a very long time.
  10. Grizzly Bear – Veckatimest
    Last but not least – I’m pretty sure this is going to be on a lot of people’s Top Ten lists. The lush instrumentation combined with Ed Droste and Daniel Rossen’s vocals is like a long-soaking hot bath for your ears. Their imminent appearance at the up-coming Sydney Festival will be a must-see.
Leave a Reply

