Neko Case Review

If there’s one thing I can’t do, it will be associating Neko Case within the genre of alt-country. Tonight Case displayed her talents in a night of genre-bending and whole-hearted, songwriting that touched the Annandale punters (packed in like sardines) in more ways than one. It was Neko Case and 400 other people on our “date”. Sure, there were some tuning problems but really I was just stunned at how laid back this lass is on stage and off, problems and all.

Neko Case @ the Annandale

Star Witness (although being 3rd 5th into the set) was really the turning point, where it felt like the crowd were really appreciative of Case and from then on, the “date” turned out well. If an encore was dessert, then what is a second encore? Yes, we were all lucky sardines to be entertained and charmed by two encores by Ms. Case. So by that, I can only assume that the second encore was the opening of a door into her/our humble abode and eat some “chocolate Chikos” (probably some American confection).

Neko Case @ the Annandale

Switching between her 4-stringed Gibson SG, her 4-stringed mini acoustic, to a normal acoustic (with the most amazing pickguard I’ve ever seen) shows her versatility without compensating for the sound that is so distinctive of Case. Her mellow and soothing voice really needs no accompaniment and at times, she does go without an instrument due to technical problems. Margaret Vs. Pauline was one of those tracks that proves her vocal and playing ability and all I had to do was take it all in.

I cannot end this without a mention of her band whom are all so talented and together with Case, they have produced an amazing set with beautiful songs. Looks like the first date was a success, another date perhaps?

Photos are here.

SOME NOTES
I thought they kept country music in Tamworth and Nashville. The ignorant person that I am will like it to be kept there too. As you can see I wasn’t very impressed with the support act.

Who’d ever think that Gibson (the best guitar makers in the world!) would actually produce a 4-stringed electric.

Nice to see you Ash, and Chris. Also hi to Lauren (I apologise if that is spelled incorrectly).

As much as Case moved me tonight, I still love Joanna.

5 comments
  1. wayne said:

    Hey Ro, I was pretty close to the stage, about ten feet away. I think with the Annandale stage being relatively low, if you aren’t down the very front you often get heads in your shots. I was too tired to do a full review, will do one tonight, but I agree it was a great night. Neko is just the most talented and natural performer. I agree the support act sucked and the singer was a bit arrogant I though as well. Isn’t it great that because of their greatness we can all appreciate talents as diverse as Neko and Joanna.

  2. Oz said:

    It was a great, amazing set.

    Only thing I was disappointed about was that since I was at the front I saw the setlist and saw ‘In California’ on it. Seems like it was a rough guide rather than a plan.

    Also totally didn’t expected a second encore and ‘Soulful Shade Of Blue’

    The support seemed a bit random. Pretty much the only thing I enjoyed was the Go-Betweens cover.

  3. Lauren said:

    Hey Ro

    You were the one in the yellow shirt weren’t you? We were chatting for a bit. Glad I managed to track down your blog! Was a great show, though was slightly disappointed that she didn’t play Needle Has Landed – the harmonies with Kelly would have been unbelievable.

    I did end up going on Wednesday too. Was largely the same setlist, though I think In California got played (not sure if my memory is playing tricks on me), as well as Beehive State (Randy Newman cover). They were amazing again, but by far the highlight for me was the banter in the encore – classic! I wish someone recorded it because it’s making me laugh now just thinking about it

  4. RO said:

    Yes twas me in the yellow. You kinda made me wish i went to Wednesday’s show now. I guess one would have to do. Nice to see you had fun seeing Neko again.

  5. dooder said:

    You people need to get a life, ” Switching between her 4-stringed Gibson SG, her 4-stringed mini acoustic, to a normal acoustic (with the most amazing pickguard I’ve ever seen) shows her versatility without compensating for the sound that is so distinctive of Case. ” LOL stupid fan-boys.

Leave a comment